Skip to content

June 8, 2007

8

I always knew there was more to Macs (in my heart of hearts)…

by quaesitor

OK – I admit it. I was proud. I used to swear by PCs and would be very rude to Mac users – esp when we lived in Uganda and there were so few of them that they were forced to huddle together in the shadows for fear of reprisals and scorn. We always had the last laugh when their macs actually DID crash for once – or when there was a technical problem, and there simply wasn’t the backup support that PCs had in Kampala. In my smugness, I would ignore the fact that for every crash they had, I’d had 37.3 – and that i lived in fear. Fear of operational instability, fear of standing out from the crowd, fear of feeling incompatible. I muddled through of course – people always do – but it was sheer bravado. Hence the persecution tendencies of those that i suppose i always knew (in my heart of hearts) were in the right.

But then the moment came – a spilled cup of coffee; the sights, sounds and smells of electronics sizzling and frying; and momentary panic. I was frozen at my desk. Off to a conference in a few days when powerpoint was a must and the clock was already ticking frighteningly fast on the prep i had to do for my talks. I was scared – what on earth should i do now?

But you know (and i really mean this) – i now look back on this time with gratitude, even though at the time i wouldn’t quite have seen it that way. But fortunately, i had a friend. We’ll call him John (for that is in fact his name). He was patient with me, he was gentle and careful enough not to foist his opinion on me. But he had some pretty clear ideas about what was best for me – and that’s fair enough. I mean, if you are a doctor, you actually know more about the cause of your patient’s problems than he or she does; so it is only fair that you be allowed to express said expert opinions. And so John took me to a place where he knew i could find help. It was just a short walk; to Oxford Circus in fact, and then on to Regent St. There, to my amazement, was what i’d always actually been searching for, if i’d only realised it before. My previous frustrations I guess had been the result of never really being able to articulate what my search had been for. I’d no idea how many times i must have walked past the place – i suppose i’d never really dared go in before. At the door, there were all these friendly people wearing black t-shirts welcoming people through the doors (which i suppose seemed normal enough) but they didn’t seem my sort – to begin with at least. I thought i could never become like them. But John encouraged me. He didn’t leave me at the door, but actually came IN with me. And this was an act of huge significance.

The place was attractive – some striking architecture, full of space and light pouring through the clear glass – so that was a start i suppose. It wasn’t dingy or intimidating, but inviting – unlike some techie geekholes. Having said that, there were lots of people milling around, all looking as though they knew what they were doing. Some were chatting idly; some were delving deep into the causes of some problem or another; some were browsing the resources centre (perhaps some were doing so out of embarrassment and ignorance of where to begin – who knows – it’s certainly where i’d have drifted if i’d been on my own); others were sitting patiently in an auditorium area while some bloke talked them through the basics of a particular doctrine and its application. And then after a few introductory remarks, i took the plunge. I PINned, formed and signed – and at that moment, my life was changed. I possessed a MacBook Pro and it was actually like being given a brand new chance, a new start, a new life, even.

 

I can now safely and sincerely say that i have never looked back. The world of PCs seems alien now, foreign even, uncivilised. I suppose i wouldn’t be honest if i denied that the odd PC-only programme (as they like to call them) gave me pangs of regret and nostalgia for the old way – but i suppress them quickly enough by simply bringing to mind what i now had. For all its restrictions (which, quite frankly, are few, especially when one has, as i do, Parallels Desktop for Mac), there is just no going back.Which means i must thank John for his patience with me; i must apologise to Adam & David for all the abuse i heaped on them (“look, I’m sorry, OK, what more do you want me to say?”); and above all i must honour the one who must be honoured: Mr Jobs himself. What can i say? I’m just glad you lived.

__________________

in case you’re concerned about what on earth has caused this drivel, its catalyst was the rather extraordinary advert for solutions inc. on the back of this month’s MacFormat magazine (see closeup, up and full ad, right). I knew Macs were good (and i do have to say that i enjoy using mine far more than i ever did my PC) – but i suspect that the claims for their efficacy slightly exceed reality. Perhaps the Advertising Standards Agency should be informed – i mean what evidence can they actually provide that Macs do save souls?

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. David
    Jun 8 2007

    Your (mac) sins are forgiven. I’ve been on a pc since I started work, and it’s pure torture. It’s incredible how much these things crash. Enjoy the mac!

    Reply
  2. Adam
    Jun 8 2007

    Love keeps no record of wrongs (though yours test that maxim).

    Reply
  3. Jo
    Jun 9 2007

    Mark – I am worried, think you may have gone but crazy!!!

    Reply
  4. alex
    Jun 9 2007

    where do you find the time…?

    Reply
  5. Ross
    Jun 11 2007

    I must say I have never experienced such a prideful group of people as Mac users! There really isn’t any zeal quite like that of the recently converted is there?
    Anyway its just yap yap yap from every Mac user I know, always going on about “no viruses, so cool, so stable, so beautiful….” blah blah blah.
    Melinda has even resorted to stroking hers when she thinks I’m not looking!
    The reality is you are all a bunch of weirdoes (normally designers or aspiring graphic designers) who live on the margins of society and try to convince yourselves that you are cool just because you aren’t compatible with the real world.
    Of course this could all just be jealousy speaking, but isn’t it interesting that even Apple had to give in by first opening up Microsoft office to the beloved Mac OS and now even the harware is on the slippery slope with Intel chips inside that gleaming white (or is it silver… or is it black…?) exterior.
    This (i.e. Mac users) may be one more thing I consign to my room 101 along with BMW drivers, caravans, Celine Dion, Anne Geddes (for henous crimes against babies – see http://annegeddes.com/ for proof), and vegetarian sausages.

    Reply
  6. Jun 11 2007

    you see Ross, that’s exactly the sort of thing i used to say. But i know what it signifies and i know that when you succumb, you will only have to eat your words – as i had to. I know that Melinda is working on you patiently, carefully, gently… So i can only sit and wait for the inevitable apology

    Reply
  7. Melinda
    Jun 11 2007

    Can I just say that I don’t really stroke my Macbook! Even though it is a beautiful thing…all shiny and white with a little apple that lights up. ahhh…

    Reply
  8. Ross McD
    Jun 20 2007

    I am one of the newly converted and this is just me yap yap yapping but for slightly different reasons. I have been converted to using Ubuntu Linux (started by a South African, for the people, by the people, altogether now…), if truth be known, ‘cos I couldn’t afford a Mac. Linux is free, it’s open source, it’s cool, it’s stable, oh so beautiful, and brown. Well at least my version is. And I don’t have to pay loads of cash for software as everything is freely available on the web. If anyone wants to try it out download a live CD (http://www.ubuntu.com/GetUbuntu/download), burn the ISO image and boot up…
    Or try http://www.whatwouldjesusdownload.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

