Skip to content

April 3, 2008

6

isn’t a pastor’s blog a waste of (their/our) time??

by quaesitor

I get asked this every now and then. And I suppose the answer is perhaps yes, usually. But I (of course) feel it has some value, even if few others do – because it certainly helps me get my thoughts clearer on things. I’m asked how I find the time – but actually, a lot of it has become just a part of my process of preparation and engagement (however feebly). And so i don’t feel the need to justify it… that much. But then a friend, Adam, linked me to this article, written by John Piper’s son Abraham. And he pretty much summed it all up with a very spiritual spin on things: so now i feel completely justified in doing it! Plus it gives me another excuse to link this classic Private Eye cartoon from last Feb – and it certainly describes to most ministers/pastors I know, whether they have a blog or not.

 

6 Reasons Pastors Should Blog

 

To sum up, here are the reasons (but read the whole thing to get the idea):

private-eye-blogger.jpgPastors should blog:

  1. … to write
  2. … to teach
  3. … to recommend
  4. … to interact
  5. … to develop an eye for what is meaningful
  6. … to be known

 

I was initially a bit dubious about that last point, until i actually read his comments properly – he’s not saying do it to become famous (which is an absolutely fatal motivation in ministry) – but so that people know your heart as a minister, i.e. going beyond the superficial and the performance of Sundays. The more I think about it, the more I realise that this is so important. One of the things that is so scary about ministry is how easy it is to hide behind a facade (one reason why the chapter on TV Religion in Neil Postman’s seminal book, Amusing Ourselves To Death, is essential reading). Now of course, there is nothing to stop a pastor’s blog forming yet another component of that facade if he wants – but I suspect it is harder for a blog not to be revealing, almost unwittingly. What is discussed, talked about, interacted with, says just as much about them as what is not. (Scary thought, as i think back over the last 18 months of doing this). And so it can be helpful for a congregation better to know their leaders.

So there you go – I’ve got my self-justification off my chest – I can now get back to preparation for the weekend!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ross
    Apr 3 2008

    Question: have you ever had your mind changed or perspective altered by blogging – either in writing and thinking things through yourself or from a commnet left by someone else?

    Reply
  2. Apr 3 2008

    Fair question – i suppose a clearer way of putting it is that i have regularly had my thinking sharpened both by the task of writing posts and by the interaction – although to be fair, my posts don’t seem to provoke that many comments (except from you, Ross, that is)

    Reply
  3. Emma
    Apr 4 2008

    Ah but even though I’m mostly a lurker, I find your blog really helpful and stimulating, so it sharpens my thinking. Thanks!

    (and I get book suggestions-always good!)

    Reply
  4. heewoo
    Apr 7 2008

    did i tell you i went to school with abraham? he was on my floor my freshman year, when i had no idea who john piper was. when he started to talk about the stress of being john piper’s son, i asked him what his dad did. then i told him how i knew exactly what he was talking about because my dad’s a pastor too. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Lynn Barbee
    Aug 17 2008

    I’m glad my pastor blogs, and always look forward to reading. I think it definitely helps us stay connected. It also keeps me in the loop on knowing how to pray for him. Prayers for you today, too!

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Blogging … as old as the hills (well almost!) « Quaerentia

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

