Skip to content

January 19, 2009

4

Get your boots on

by quaesitor

u2-no-line

People will call me sad; they’ll say i’m obsessed; that i don’t have a life. But fine. Such is the life of the believer. I’ve been on tenterhooks for the new U2 album NO LINE ON THE HORIZON (out 2nd March) – can’t wait and yet terrified of it being rubbish.

Well, just had a quick listen to the new single from the album, which is coming out in Feb. It’s called Get Your Boots On. It has a thumping, driving rhythm section, c/o Adam and Larry giving it everything. Haven’t had the chance to think thru the words yet, but it has already got under the skin. It’s heavy, in your face and yet slithers from section to section without ever letting up or being predictable. Love it.

So that’s a relief then. 1 down, 10 to go.

Here’s the full set list:

1. No Line On The Horizon
2. Magnificent
3. Moment of Surrender
4. Unknown Caller
5. I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight
6. Get On Your Boots
7. Stand Up Comedy
8. Fez – Being Born
9. White As Snow
10. Breathe
11. Cedars Of Lebanon

And finally, I just love the cover. A million miles from the frenetic 90s covers or the rock-star photo shoots covers of most of the others. This is in the spirit of Unforgettable Fire and Joshua Tree, except it doesn’t have anyone in it. Apparently, it’s an image of the sea meeting the sky by Japanese artist and photographer Hiroshi Sugimoto – and suits the title perfectly.

Oh well – call me sad if you must. I’m happy!

____________________________________

STOP PRESS – here are the lyrics (c/o U2.com):

GET ON YOUR BOOTS

The future needs a big kiss // Winds blows with a twist
Never seen a moon like this // Can you see it too?
Night is falling everywhere // Rockets at the fun fair
Satan loves a bomb scare // But he won’t scare you

Hey, sexy boots // Get on your boots, yeah

You free me from the dark dream // Candy floss ice cream
All our kids are screaming // But the ghosts aren’t real
Here’s where we gotta be // Love and community
Laughter is eternity // If joy is real

You don’t know how beautiful 
You don’t know how beautiful you are
You don’t know, and you don’t get it, do you?
You don’t know how beautiful you are

That’s someone’s stuff they’re blowing up // We’re into growing up
Women of the future // Hold the big revelations
I got a submarine // You got gasoline
I don’t want to talk about wars between nations
Not right now

Hey sexy boots…  // Get on your boots, yeah
Not right now // Bossy boots

You don’t know how beautiful …

Hey sexy boots
I don’t want to talk about the wars between the nations
Sexy boots, yeah

Let me in the sound … // Meet me in the sound
Let me in the sound // Let me in the sound, now
God, I’m going down // I don’t wanna drown now
Meet me in the sound
Let me in the sound… // Meet me in the sound
Get on your boots…
Yeah hey hey

Read more from arts, beauty, music, photos, U2
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jo Kennedy
    Jan 19 2009

    Hey Mark, you are not sad, I am counting down the days until NLOTH comes out, only 45 days, i think, am no good at counting.

    Though must say was not that impressed by GOYB like you were, on first listen bits of it annoyed me, other bits are fantastic, but on second listen i liked more bits, so am sure i will like it by the time the album comes out. Looking forward to the other tunes, it is so different from ATYCLB and HTDAAB – looking forward to the brits as well.

    Reply
  2. Jan 19 2009

    Where did you hear the single Mark – would love to give it a spin?

    Reply
  3. Jan 19 2009

    Thanks for the lyrics – heard it via YouTube today and I’m sorry to say it sounded like a bit of a mess! As Jo said, some bits are great – like the chorus – and others weren’t. Perhaps it needs a few listens.

    Having been more than impressed with Coldplays stuff in the last 12 months, U2 have got their work cut out, I really do hope it’s a good album.

    Reply
  4. Jan 20 2009

    I think it is ok to be liking u2 so long as we don’t think we are being hip with the kids by doing so. They are fat middle-aged guys – that’s why I relate to them so well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

