Skip to content

June 21, 2013

Friday Fun 43: HERO – A new poem by Jonathan Rye

by quaesitor
IMG_2893

Spending time at L’Abri is always a rewarding experience. Last time, I was able to sit down and chat with Dutch film-maker Jaap van Heusden. This time, I managed to complete a whole chapter of the book I’m working on, and get to know lots of great new people . One in particular is a wry, dry, and very witty guy from the Appalachians, who goes by the name Jonathan Rye. One evening he read one of poems which had me chuckling for a while afterwards. He kindly allowed me to post it here.

Enjoy.

HERO
by Jonathan Rye

MaximusI am the epic hero,
the one who saves the final day.
Heralds sing my praises,
For I keep the beasts at bay.

In battle i emerge triumphant.
I slay the enemy lord.
No other man can top me,
with bow, mace, or sword.

I can lift boulders and uproot trees.
My strength will never fail me.
The weak and helpless call my name,
and I answer to their plea.

Metals of honor adorn my arms;
my armor, solid gold.
On poetic parchment,
tales of my deeds unfold.

The marble coluymns of my home rise high.
My servants do all I ask.
The king will visit me often,
to present me with a task.

I win great renown.
Fame has filled my cup.
But every time, in the end,
I must, at last, wake up.

Oh and by the way, this is a picture of his daily breakfast routine. Perhaps that’s where I’ve gone wrong on the creativity stakes.

IMG_2893

Read more from culture

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

